How to spend your birthday alone.

HaaaEEEE! 🙂

Today is my birthday and, unfortunately for me, I am alone. And as sad as this sounds, noh, it’s actually not very sad; i.e once you get past the fact that it’s an unfortunate or depressing thing to be alone.

It was depressing at first. Really. I had only the voices of my friends and family to cheer me up, no birthday presents sent from far away, no surprises at my doorstep, no birthday cake.

But the thing is once your done dwelling on the negative and the unfairness, you realize that the lack of justice in the world gives rise to many many wonderful opportunities*. And by the time you’re done with the day, you’ve found the superhero in you and justice prevails.

Sure, it was the people, the presents, the surprises, the things people did to make you happy that kept you happy and made you feel a little more special than usual. But deep down you know that every birthday you’ve spent on this earth was a gift in itself and, even if some birthdays seemed like a struggle, it was always YOU that made you feel more than special. YOU woke up in the morning with a smile on your face, YOU shivered in delight as you walked down the stairs, YOU conjured up that glow inside of yourself every birthday and YOU, my friend, wished on the stars with the confirmed notion that those wishes would really come true. A lot of people said they wouldn’t but YOU believed in the magic of birthdays, YOU BELIEVED.

And it didn’t take anyone but yourself to do it.

Birthdays are the most magical and special days of people’s lives. Every birthday is a reminder that you’re alive. You have the chance to smell the sky (even if it does smell of excess oil and chinese food courts) and bathe yourself in sunshine. You have the chance to feel, to express and to experience the beauty of life around you. It’s a day to be thankful, because no matter how deep a gutter you’re in, you’re still alive and that gives you the chance to do what you need to do, to say what you need to say, to feel what you need to feel and to find happiness. It gives you a chance to be ALIVE.

It wasn’t so bad, this birthday. My friend told me, even before the day began, that this would be a learning experience.

Nope, I didn’t learn how to spend a birthday ALONE. I was surrounded by life. Even if the birthday wishes came from the internet and from phone calls, they still came. Even though the surprises and the presents were blogs and videos, they came. They weren’t physical objects I could touch but they touched me. They made me smile, laugh and giggle. They picked me up.

I didn’t learn to spend a birthday alone because I learnt how to spend a birthday differently. Differently from most normal birthdays.

The other thing that made my day by the way, was the fact that I visited the zoo, yes on my own. I GOT A FREE PASS! BECAUSE IT WAS MY BIRTHDAY! AND A BADGE! AND FREE ICE-CREAM AND DISCOUNT IN THE ZOO SHOP( which I didn’t use :p).

 

Wild Birthday Badge!

Thank you, Krishna. For the blog, for the time, for the artwork, for you. For being my PORILLA BEAR. 🙂

Thank you Annie, for being the irritating bugger that you were last night and picking me up. Thanks for being a bit of a jackass and you are getting yourself beaten up by a little girl when I visit in December. Be prepared. 😉

*Yes, Annie, I stole that line from our inboxes. BECAUSE I LIKED IT. Because I have ownership over it. Pooh.

Thank you Ankur, Arshiii (SHA SHA), Kiki and Annie, for the video. YES IT MADE ME LAUGH MY FACE OFF XD.

I LOUWE YOU ALL!

Happy Birthday to me! 🙂

And anyone else who’s birthday it is! 🙂

YOU MUST NOT FORGET TO MAKE A WISH! XO

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Counting UFOs
    Sep 26, 2011 @ 03:47:43

    Wow. I love reading your posts. They make me enthusiastic. About your life there, my own life here, about Singapore, Bangalore, just about everything else too.
    Your love is contagious. 😀

    Let’s hope you grow tall enough to reach it by then. 😀
    Anything for the birthday girl. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

